Share this:

Rock Talk With Mitch Lafon and co-host Alan Niven interviews front-man Ron Keel of the RON KEEL BAND. In this episode, Ron Keel discusses his band’s latest album SOUTH X SOUTH DAKOTA, southern rock bands, explains the decision to release the album during a pandemic rather than holding off, his thoughts on album reviews, Black Sabbath, Spencer Proffer, Kick Axe, and much more. Listen below…


RON KEEL BAND along with HighVolMusic have released the new video for ‘Red, White & Blue’ the first single off of SOUTH X SOUTH DAKOTA



RON KEEL BAND has released their new album SOUTH X SOUTH DAKOTA, a celebration of southern rock classics featuring the music of Skynyrd, Allman Brothers, Outlaws, Blackfoot, Molly Hatchet, .38 Special, Creedence and more, on the HighVolMusic label. During recording sessions for their 2019 original albumRKB Poster Inside release FIGHT LIKE A BAND, the band warmed up each day by ripping through some of their favorite southern rock classics; what started as a fun way to loosen up in the studio has now become a powerful musical statement.

“At first, we didn’t even know Mike (producer Mike Dresch) was recording,” Ron says. “We were just having fun. But of course, Mike records everything we do, and when I started listening back I realized that we had something special on our hands.

“South X South Dakota is a really cool way to pay tribute to those southern rock heroes that provided such a big part of the soundtrack of our lives, while introducing a new generation of fans to these timeless songs.”

The album’s first single and video is “Red White & Blue,” originally recorded by Lynyrd Skynyrd. Dealing with the “social distancing” required during the global 2020 Covid-19 pandemic, the band members were each filmed at separate iconic locations including Mt. Rushmore. Another featured track is “Don’t Misunderstand Me,” a hard rocking duet which pairs the Metal Cowboy with the powerhouse vocalist Jasmine Cain (2016 Nashville Music Awards “Artist Of The Year”).

RKB’s cover of the Outlaws classic “Ghost Riders In The Sky” (produced by Henry Paul) was the debut single and video when they were known as the “Badlands House Band,” and “Homesick” (originally recorded by Atlanta Rhythm Section) was their 2017 summer single. Both of those recordings are included in the new SxSD collection.

“For 10 years during the 80’s, Hollywood was home,” Keel reflects. “But I was born in Georgia as the son of a construction worker, and Nashville’s where I got my start as a recording artist. My fans as well as my critics all know that I have one foot on either side of the tracks; there’s a common thread here that ties it all together – toughness and twang as Metal and Country collide on sacred southern ground.”.


South x South DakotaTRACK LISTING

1. Train Train

2. Rockin’ Into The Night

3. Don’t Misunderstand Me (featuring Jasmine Cain)

4. Red White & Blue

5. Flirtin’ With Disaster

6. Ramblin’ Man

7. Fire On The Mountain

8. Mamas Don’t Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys

9. Homesick

10. Ghost Riders In The Sky (produced by Henry Paul)

11. Creedence Medley LIVE

Download and streaming available at:

Share this: